Avenge the Dead Book Review

Avenge the dead was gifted to me in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Book: Avenge the Dead

Author: Jackie Baldwin

Publication Date: 28th February 2020

Genre: Thriller

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis

Sometimes murder is the only way to get even…

The gripping new Scottish crime thriller that you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of L J Ross and Val McDermid.

Four friends with dark secrets. One killer out for revenge.

DI Frank Farrell and DS McLeod are tasked with investigating the brutal murder of a defence solicitor’s wife in Dumfries.

It’s been over a year since they left the town after an investigation robbed them of a dear friend. But now they’re back and must find a way to move on.

When the son of another defence solicitor is murdered, a strange tattoo etched on his body, the case takes them into darker, more disturbing territory.

It leads them back into the past – to a horrific fire in a cottage that took a woman’s life, to four friends harbouring dark secrets – and finally to a killer waiting patiently for revenge.

My Review

Wow, wow, wow, what can I say about this book. Right from the beginning I was hooked with the death of a woman that happens ten year previous to the current setting of the plot.

Avenge the Dead has a lot of trigger warnings such as murder, rape, drug abuse, alcohol abuse and so much more. Please be cautious heading into this book if you have any triggers just to be safe.

This is a multiple perspective novel following a few of the police officers who are involved in a new murder case that has happened.

This book is book three in a series but can be read as a standalone but unfortunately some of the things mentioned in this novel went over my head and I wasn’t invested in some of the sub plots because I hadn’t read book one or two but I still really enjoyed this novel.

The chapters were very short which I love in thrillers because it feels like you were flying through the story and it keeps the story flowing really well.

The pacing in this story was perfect and I felt like I was following this investigation from start to finish and trying to solve the murder along with the investigators. This is such a fast paced, easy read if you’re looking for a new mystery/thriller to check out.

About the Author

Scottish crime writer and former criminal lawyer.

Debut novel ‘Dead Man’s Prayer’ published on 2nd September 2016 by Killer Reads, Harper Collins.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: