Dread Wood Book Review

Dread Wood was gifted to me in exchange for an honest review.

Author: Jennifer Killick
Genre; middle grade horror
Rating: 4 Stars

Synopsis

The brand new must-read middle-grade novel from the author of super-spooky Crater Lake. Perfect for 9+ fans of R.L.Stine’s Goosebumps

It’s basically the worst school detention ever. When classmates (but not mate-mates) Hallie, Angelo, Gustav and Naira are forced to come to school on a SATURDAY, they think things can’t get much worse. But they’re wrong. Things are about to get seriously scary.

What has dragged their teacher underground? Why do the creepy caretakers keeping humming the tune to Itsy Bitsy Spider? And what horrors lurk in the shadows, getting stronger and meaner every minute . . .? Cut off from help and in danger each time they touch the ground, the gang’s only hope is to work together. But it’s no coincidence that they’re all there on detention. Someone has been watching and plotting and is out for revenge . . .

My Thoughts:

Characters: I really loved the group of characters in this story. They are a bunch of misfits who don’t don’t along but when things start to get scary and weird i love seeing them come together.

At the beginning I wasn’t sure if I liked any of the characters as they seemed annoying and mean but as we continued through thus story I fell in love with all of these characters.

They have all done some things they aren’t proud of and it’s nice to see them admit to those wrongs and learn from them.

Atmosphere: This book is so atmospheric. This story gave me a lot of fall vibes so it’s a great book for spooky session.

Although the atmosphere does become quite dark and scary the characters within this novel provide a lot of comic relief throughout which I enjoyed.

Writing: The writing is excellent in this story! Jennifer has done such a great job writing from this young boys perspective and did so well creating multi dimensional characters.

Plot: This book is so so creepy. For a middlegrade book I became very spooked out. This story explores a big phobia I have that I was not expecting so I think that’s why this story freaked me out so much more.

Intrigue: Although I was scared of what the heck was happening in this story I was very Intrigued to figure out what was going to happen.

Logic: This story made a lot of sense and nothing pulled me out of it.

Enjoyment: I loved this book and cant wait to read more from this author!

One thought on “Dread Wood Book Review

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started