Straight Expectations Book Review

Straight expectations was gifted to me in exchange for an honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions are my own. 

Book: Straight Expectations 

Author: Calum Mcswiggan

Publication Date: 4th May 2023 

Genre: Contemporary romance 

Rating: 4 Stars 

Synopsis 

The brilliant debut novel from author, presenter and LGBTQ+ advocate Calum McSwiggan!

Seventeen-year-old Max has always been out, proud and just a little spoiled. Frustrated by the lack of romantic options in his small-town high school, during an argument with his lifelong best friend Dean, Max lashes out and says he wishes he had never been born gay.

Max gets more than he bargained for when he wakes up to find his wish has come true – not only have his feelings for boys vanished, but so has Dean.

With his school life turned upside down and his relationship with his family in tatters, Max sets out on a journey of rediscovery to find a way back to the life he took for granted, and the romance he thought he’d never have.

A deliciously romantic YA debut that’s What If It’s Us and One Last Stop!

My Thoughts 

I’m not a huge contemporary ya romance reader but I will always make an exception for an LGBTQIA+ novel. 

Characters – 8 

We meet a lot of characters in this story which I really liked. I loved each and every one of them for different reasons. This is a YA novel so I did find Max to be a bit annoying and whiny at times but that’s a given due to the age range of this book. Dead was a star and I adored him so much. He was fabulous, funny, an amazing friend and not afraid to be himself. I loved all the characters we meet, most LGBTQIIA+ but also a few allies the community which was amazing to see. There is one character that I wish got what was coming to him due to the way he treated those in the LGBT community but it also makes a lot of sense and is very realistic. Unfortunately many people have to go through this treatment just because they are different and most of the time nothing is done in those situations. 

Atmosphere – 7 

As we move through this story things become very tense. He wakes up and all of a sudden he is straight, his best friend is missing and he has no idea what has happened. I was tense reading this as he made some dumb decisions and kept screwing things up. 

Writing – 7 

The writing was good. Right away I got pulled into the story. It is very engaging and I loved the humour in the dialogue and also in the inner thoughts of Max.  

Plot – 7 

I really enjoyed the plot of this novel. As I said previously I’m not the biggest ya contemporary romance reader but the little bit of a sci-fi twist had me hooked. I love the discussions that also took place in this book. Max’s friends are people of colour and Max is white so I appreciate his friends pulling him up on his privilege as being a white gay man. Yes he is still discriminated against for being gay but he has the privilege of being white. 

Intrigue – 8 

The synopsis of this novel really intrigued me and I needed to know what the heck happened and how Max is going to fix all of this. 

Logic – 7 

Max is a teenage boy and some of the decisions he makes are really dumb which annoyed me as we moved through this story but again he is a teenager and a lot of the time they don’t think clearly so I have to give it to the author for portraying a teen very well. 

Enjoyment – 7 

I had a fun time reading this book. I’d highly recommend it to an older teen audience as it would give them insight into the LGBTQIA+ community.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started