The Stranded Book Review

The Stranded was gifted to me in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Book: The Stranded

Author: Sarah Daniels

Publication date: 21st July 2022

Genre: Dystopian

Synopsis

Welcome to the Arcadia.

Once a luxurious cruise ship, now it is home to the stranded. For forty years, they have lived, and died, on the water.

A place of extreme haves and have-nots, gangs and make-shift shelters, its people are tyrannized by a country they can see but can’t get to. A country that says it doesn’t want them.

Esther is a loyal citizen, working flat-out for a rare chance to live a life on land. Nik is a rebel, intent on liberating the Arcadia once and for all.

Together, they will change the future . . .

My Thoughts

Right from the beginning of this story I was absolutely absorbed. The first page you open is the Captain’s announcement about the weather and how many days at see and virus cases which peaked my interest immediately.

As we move through this story we are following three points of view with three very distinct beliefs and motives in this story. I really enjoy all of their perspectives although one is a more dark, gruesome and sinister point of view.

This is a very unique and original story which I adored and had a great time reading. This book gives me The Hunger Games vibes which brought me a lot of nostalgia which was really fun. A lot of the characters are very reminiscent of characters in The Hunger Games which was fun to compare.

This story is quite dark which I always enjoy and explores things such as how much people will do and sacrifice for their freedom. I always love watching/ reading about different characters and how they each act based on their own thoughts and beliefs.

I had so much fun with this book and stay tuned for my review of book two The Exiled next week.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started